Home > SQL / BI > PerformancePoint Admin Permissions

PerformancePoint Admin Permissions

I’m rebuilding my demo laptop on Windows Server 2008 and when it came to getting PerformancePoint set up I was getting nowhere fast when logged on as my domain user. Whenever I tried to create a new Data Connection I got this error:

The requested item cannot be found.

I’d played around with running the web services as different accounts, granting access to the SQL server I was trying to connect to. I turns out that my domain user wasn’t given administrative permissions in PPS even though I had installed it under that username. I had to log on as the local administrator and explicitly grant my username admin rights, as described by Tim Kent. I’d never run into this on Windows 2003 so I get the impression it’s something to do with the new security model in Windows Server 2008.

Categories: SQL / BI
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

